Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Spotlight on the Second Place Regional Winners

In an effort to promote science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education, the U.S. Army would like to congratulate the 2009-2010 eCYBERMISSION second-place winning regional teams.

A free, web-based STEM competition for students in grades six through nine, the eCYBERMISSION program selects teams with the two highest scores in each grade and region as the first-place and second-place regional winning teams. eCYBERMISSION also awards a team in each grade and region in four criteria award categories. These categories include: Application of Science, Math & Technology; Innovation, Originality & Creativity; Benefit to the Community; and Team Collaboration & Communication.

Congratulations to the following second-place winners:

6th Grade Second Place Winners:

Northeast Region: E-vision, Our Lady of Mount Carmel School, Asbury Park, N.J.
Team Advisor: Tina Krook, Team Members: Armelle Dejoie, Christina Carrington, Travis Napoleone

Northwest Region: DDI, Learning Without Limits, West Branch, Iowa
Team Advisor: Hector Ibarra, Team Members: Allison Kusick, Megan Tadlock, Gabby Salemink, Kara Fountain

Southeast Region: Oreo Team, Rainbow Elementary School, Ainsbach, Germany
Team Advisor: Olga Strader, Team Members: Andres Mayorga, Jesmarie Fernandez, Alaina Staniewicz, Christian DelaCruz

Southwest/Pacific Region: Holy Cow!, Science Rocks U, Whiteface, Texas
Team Advisor, Laura Wilbanks, Team Members: Alberto Castillo, Maximiliamo Villanueva, Courtney Nisbet

7th Grade Second Place Winners:

Northeast Region: KreepyKrawlers, All Saints Regional Catholic School, Manahawkin, N.J.
Team Advisor: Wendy Fifield, Team Members: Jonathan Login, Joseph Ferraro, Jon Kubricki, Sean Fifield

Northwest Region: Thought Processors, Winnebago Middle School, Winnebago, Ill.
Team Advisor: Luann Moth, Team Members: Hunter Eichenberger, Benjamin Levandowski, Amanda Blunk

Southeast Region: Striker, Stone Middle School, Melbourne, Fla.
Team Advisor: Richard Regan, Team Members: Jessie Draper, Natalie Barton, Colleen Kane

Southwest/Pacific Region: Swinger Patrol, Byng Junior High School, Ada, Okla.
Team Advisor: Linda Lancaster, Team Members: Anita Melendez, Crystal Tovar, Jessica Scott, Shadley Grove

8th Grade Second Place Winners: 

Northeast Region: BIBLE, Poe Middle School, Annandale, Va.
Team Advisor: Christine Bane, Team Members: Kaitlin Martindale, Youjin (Sarah) Kook, SungHee Park, Katherine Thomas

Northwest Region: Lights Out, Learning Without Limits, West Branch, Iowa
Team Advisor: Hector Ibarra, Team Members: Yash Patel, Justin Roth, Tyler Haub

Southeast Region: Stinky Situations, Lawton Chiles Middle Academy, Lakeland, Fla.
Team Advisor: Debbie Viertel, Team Members: Dipali Patel, Aiesha Omer, Alexis Pujol, Nadia Mir

Southwest/Pacific Region: Jumps and Bumps, Science Rocks U, Whiteface, Texas
Team Advisor: Laura Wilbanks, Team Members: Guadalupe Soliz, Ivan Delgado, Payton Perez, Brandon Cox

9th Grade Second Place Winners:

Northeast Region: Trashformers, MATES, Manahawkin, N.J.
Team Advisor: Elizabeth DeLosa, Team Members: Wayne Brummer, Emily Bruinooge, Joey DeLosa, Kelly Dowd

Northwest Region: Krazy Kung Fu Pandas, Central Valley High School, Spokane Valley, Wash.
Team Advisor: Lori Buratto, Team Members: Christopher Sturm, Emily Barkley, Breanna Ahlgren, Jinhyuk Kim

Southeast Region: We R The Champions, Vilseck High School, Vilseck, Germany
Team Advisor: Lawrence Chanin, Team Members: Christy Chanin, Malia Carson, Quinton Edwards

Southwest/Pacific Region: Aloha Servers, Moanalua High School, Honolulu, Hawaii
Team Advisor: Theresa Nishite, Team Members: Leo Dela Cruz, Shaneika Aguilar, Kroie Lum, Kristen Monico

For more information or to access the complete list of the 2009-2010 eCYBERMISSION regional winning teams, click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome your comments and expect that our conversation will follow the general rules of respectful civil discourse. This is a moderated blog, and we will only post comments from bloggers over 13 years of age that relate to eCYBERMISSION. We will review comments for posting within one business day. Bloggers are fully responsible for everything that they submit in their comments, and all posted comments are in the public domain. We do not discriminate against any views, but we reserve the right not to post comments.